Village of Clarksville Council Meeting Minutes February 3, 2025

A regular monthly meeting of the Clarksville Village Council was held February 3, 2025 at the Clarksville Village Hall. President Tristen Alderink called the meeting to order at 7pm. Other council members present – Trustees Debra Winkler, Bonnie Main, Allen Sheldon, Scott Briggs, Brad Clark, Treasurer Rose Barratt, and Clerk Shari Clark. Absent – Trustee Patricia Reser.

Public comment was heard from Dave Reser who presented a letter of resignation on behalf of Patricia Reser, which was read aloud. Appreciation was extended for her past 31 years of public service to the village. One Village Council Trustee application has been submitted for the vacancy.

Village residents interested interesting in serving as Village Trustee may access an application online www.clarksvillemi.org or contact the clerk. Applications must be submitted to the Village Clerk clarksvillemi@clarksvillemi.org for review at the next council meeting. Appointment shall be filled by appointment of the council for a partial term until the November 2026 general election which shall be placed on the ballot for the remaining term ending November 2028.

The minutes of the January 6, 2025 meeting were read and approved.

Motion by B.Clark and supported by Sheldon to pay monthly bills totaling \$4,189.01 plus incoming Consumers and Ionia County Sheriff bills. All in favor, motion passed.

Reports were read by Treasurer Barratt, Street Commissioner Sheldon, Sewer by B.Clark, *ex officio* Planning Commissioner Main, Clerk Shari Clark, President Alderink, and Playground update by Sheldon.

Moved by Sheldon and supported by Winkler to accept Final Budget Fiscal 2023-24 and to adopt projected Budget Fiscal 2024-25 as presented by treasurer. All in favor, motion passed. Council reviewed Planning Commission's 2024 Annual Report, Annual Work Program 2025, and the Zoning Administrator's 2024 Annual Report. It was noted that the Master Plan update process needs to continue.

Moved by Sheldon and supported by Winkler to authorize up to \$200.00 expense to replace faucet in kitchen. Motion passed.

RESOLUTION #2025-01 COMPENSATION VILLAGE CLERK was offered by Council Member Allen Sheldon and supported by Council Member Scott Briggs. Upon roll call, the following voted "Aye": Debra Winkler, Bonnie Main, Allen Sheldon, and Scott Briggs. "Abstain": Brad Clark. Absent: Patricia Reser. Village President Tristen Alderink declared the resolution adopted.

RESOLUTION #2025-02 COMPENSATION VILLAGE TREASURER was offered by Council Member Allen Sheldon and supported by Council Member Scott Briggs. Upon roll call, the following voted "Aye": Brad Clark, Bonnie Main, Allen Sheldon, and Scott Briggs. "Abstain": Debra Winkler. Absent: Patricia Reser. Village President Tristen Alderink declared the resolution adopted.

Moved by B.Clark and supported by Main to approve Econo Signs \$1,071.54 quote to replace village limit signs. All in favor, motion passed.

Council reviewed SWOT survey from Ionia Conservation District regarding Ionia County's Solid Waste Plan focused on recycling to reduce waste. Clerk will submit comments on behalf of council.

The meeting adjourned at 8:23 pm.

The next regular meeting will be held March 3, 2025.