Village of Clarksville Council Meeting Minutes December 2, 2024

A regular monthly meeting of the Clarksville Village Council was held December 2, 2024 at the Clarksville Village Hall. President Tristen Alderink called the meeting to order at 7pm.

Other council members present – Trustees Bonnie Main, Patricia Reser, Allen Sheldon, Debra Winkler, Brad Clark, Scott Briggs, and Clerk Shari Clark. Absent – Treasurer Rose Barratt.

Public comments were heard.

The minutes of the November 4, 2024 and November 7, 2024 meetings were read and approved. Moved by B.Clark and supported by Reser to pay monthly bills totaling \$11,513.04. All in favor, motion passed.

Reports were read for Treasurer by S.Clark and by Street Commissioner Sheldon, Sewer by B.Clark, *ex officio* Planning Commissioner Main, and Clerk S.Clark.

Three Zoning Administrator applications were reviewed.

Presentations were shared from applicants John Jewell & Derek Byers.

Moved by Sheldon and supported by Reser to appoint John Jewell as Zoning Administrator.

Upon Roll Call the following voted "Aye": Reser and Sheldon. "Nay": Briggs, B.Clark, Main, and Winkler. Motion failed.

Moved by Winkler and supported by Briggs to appoint Bert Gale of Associated Government Services, Inc. as Village Zoning Administrator. Upon Roll Call the following voted "Aye": Reser, Briggs, B.Clark, Winkler, and Main. "Nay": Sheldon. Motion passed.

Planning Commissioner application from Jason Cappon was reviewed. Moved by B.Clark and supported by Winkler to appoint Cappon as Village Planning Commissioner to fill vacancy with term ending November 2026. Upon Roll Call all voted "Aye". Motion passed.

RESOLUTION #2024-01 APPOINTMENT OF VILLAGE PLANNING COMMISSIONERS was offered for adoption by Council Member B.Clark and supported by Briggs. Upon roll call all voted "Aye". Motion passed.

Moved by Sheldon and supported by B.Clark to approve 2025 meeting calendars. Council meetings will be held 1st Mondays (except September will be held Tuesday September 9th) and Planning Commission meetings will be held the 3rd Thursdays each month. All in favor, motion passed. All meetings begin 7pm at Clarksville Village Hall. Moved by Sheldon and supported by Winkler to appoint Brad Clark as President pro tempore. All in favor, motion passed.

Moved by Winkler and supported by Briggs to appoint standing committees as follows; Finance, Budget, & Grants Committee – Rose Barratt & Tristen Alderink, Health and Public Safety Committee – Tristen Alderink & Bonnie Main, Legislative Committee – Shari Clark & Allen Sheldon, Streets, Sidewalks, & Street Lighting Committee – Allen Sheldon & Brad Clark, Downtown Revitalization and Business Development Committee – Tristen Alderink & Scott Briggs, and Parks and Recreation Committee – Debra Winkler & Allen Sheldon. All in favor, motion passed.

Moved by Winkler and supported by Sheldon to reappoint Brad Clark as Village Representative to serve on Clarksville-Morrison Lake Sewer Authority board. All in favor, motion passed.

Moved by Sheldon and supported by Winkler to add new Village President Tristen Alderink and pro tempore Brad Clark as authorized users, Rose Barratt & Shari Clark will remain, and to remove Amy Byers and Bonnie Main from all bank accounts effective December 2, 2024. All bank accounts including (but not limited to) various savings, checking, and CDs with United Bank and Portland Federal Credit Union, and Safety Deposit Box at United Bank. All in favor, motion passed.

Reminder to residents that it is the responsibility of the property owner to shovel sidewalks and off-street parking is required per ordinance. Sidewalks must be cleared of snow and ice (within 24 hours in residential districts & within 4 hours in the business district after the cessation of any fall of snow, sleet, or freezing rain) and vehicles may not be parked longer than 12 hours on Main Street or 24 hours on other public streets within the village. For persons within the residential district that this would cause undue hardship, they may file a request for exemption with the Village Clerk.

The meeting adjourned at 8:12 pm.

The next regular council meeting will be held January 6, 2025.