Village of Clarksville Council Meeting Minutes November 4, 2024

A regular monthly meeting was held November 4, 2024 at the Clarksville Village Hall. President Pro tempore Bonnie Main called the meeting to order at 7pm. Council members present – Trustees Debra Winkler, Allen Sheldon, Bonnie Main, Patricia Reser, Brad Clark, Scott Briggs, Treasurer Rose Barratt, and Clerk Shari Clark. President – vacant.

No public comment.

The minutes of the October 7, 2024 meeting were read and approved.

Moved by B.Clark and supported by Reser to pay monthly bills totaling \$29,837.97. All in favor, motion passed.

Reports were read by Treasurer Rose Barratt, Street Commissioner Sheldon, Sewer by B.Clark, *ex officio* Planning Commissioner Main, Clerk Shari Clark, and Playground Committee Sheldon.

Sheldon is researching contractors who can paint crosswalks, may be too late in the season.

Sheldon will follow up regarding Task Force 8B 2026-2029 meetings, made up of various villages within Ionia County to discuss priority projects and present to Ionia County for the next round of MDOT Rural Task Force funding. Cross Street and Main Street are both eligible projects (20% local match plus engineering required).

The Clarksville Planning Commission approved to commence Master Plan amendment process at their October 17, 2024 meeting.

Moved by Sheldon and supported by Winkler to approve the 6th Annual Tree Lighting Event organized by the Clarksville Planning Commission to be held November 29, 2024. All in favor, motion passed. Meet with Santa 5-7pm & Tree Lighting 6:30pm at the gazebo on Main Street, followed by a Parade of Tractors decorated in Christmas lights. Refreshments served at Clarksville Village Hall. QR code to sign up for the tractor parade will be posted on village website & facebook page.

Village of Clarksville is seeking a Zoning Administrator. Interested applicants may submit their resumé to: clarksvillemi@clarksvillemi.org or mail to PO Box 118, Clarksville, MI 48815

Planning Commissioners seeking reappointment Alexia Hoffman & Kellie Stank, and new applicant Olivia Kent were reviewed. Village Attorney Hannah Recknagel spoke on eligibility requirements with council by reviewing the Clarksville Village Charter:

Chapter II. Officers. Section 7. No person shall be elected or appointed to any office unless he/she shall be an elector* of the Village. And no person shall be elected or appointed to any office in the Village who has been or is a defaulter to the Village or to any board of officers thereof, or to any school district, county or other municipal corporation of the State. All votes for or any appointment of any such defaulter shall be void and Section 11.... If any officer shall be a defaulter, the office shall thereby be vacated.

*Michigan Planning Enabling Act #33 of 2008 Article II. Sec. 15 (4)(b) provides that up to two Planning Commission members may be individuals who are not qualified electors of the local unit of government.

The eligible candidates that may be appointed to Planning Commission are Kellie Stank and Olivia Kent. Moved by B.Clark and supported by Briggs to appoint Olivia Kent and reappoint Kellie Stank for 3-year terms as Village Planning Commissioner. Upon Roll Call the following voted "Aye": Brad Clark, Patricia Reser, Scott Briggs, Debra Winkler, and Bonnie Main. "Nay": Allen Sheldon. Motion passed.

The meeting adjourned at 7:30 pm.

A Special Council Meeting will be held Thursday November 7, 2024 at 7 pm to swear in newly elected officials. The next regular council meeting will be held December 2, 2024 at 7pm.