Village of Clarksville Council Meeting Minutes December 4, 2023

A regular monthly meeting of the Clarksville Village Council was held December 4, 2023 at the Clarksville Village Hall. President Amy Byers called the meeting to order at 7pm.

All council members present – Trustees Debra Winkler, Bonnie Main, Patricia Reser, Allen Sheldon, Brad Clark, Scott Briggs, Treasurer Rose Barratt, and Clerk Shari Clark.

The minutes of the November 6, 2023 Council & ZBA meetings were read and approved. No public comment.

Moved by Sheldon and supported by B.Clark to pay monthly bills totaling \$3,954.47. All in favor, motion passed. Reports were read by Treasurer Barratt, Street Commissioner Sheldon, Sewer by B.Clark, *ex officio* Planning Commissioner Main, Clerk by S.Clark, President Byers, and Playground Committee Sheldon & Winkler.

Upon review of current & projected budget reports Treasurer will amend projected budget moving \$100,000.00 into Major and \$80,000.00 into Local Street accounts, in reserve for upcoming street & sidewalk project expenses next year.

Moved by B.Clark and supported by Reser to authorize Treasurer to move \$50,000.00 from United Bank General Fund and place into a 12 or 18 month CD at any financial institution offering the best rate. Authorized users to be listed on account are President Amy Byers, Treasurer Rose Barratt, and Clerk Shari Clark. All in favor, motion passed.

Moved by Sheldon and supported by Reser to authorize President Byers to request Ionia County Sheriff to patrol an additional four hours per month within the village, an increase to the contract agreement between the Village and Sheriff Department, until notified differently. All in favor, motion passed.

Fence placement at the future playground will be scheduled by Sheldon dependent upon available volunteers when weather permits.

RESOLUTION #2023-01 APPOINTMENT OF VILLAGE PLANNING COMMISSIONERS was offered for adoption by Council Member B.Clark and supported by Winkler. Upon roll call all voted "Aye". Motion passed.

Motion by Sheldon and supported by Winkler to approve 2024 Village Council meetings be held 1st Mondays (with the exception of the following meetings to be held Tuesdays January 9th & September 10th) each month. Motion passed. Motion by B.Clark and supported by Sheldon to set 2024 Village Planning Commission meetings to be held the 3rd Thursdays each month. Motion passed. All meetings begin 7pm at Clarksville Village Hall.

Moved by B.Clark and supported by Reser to re-appoint Bonnie Main as President pro tempore. All in favor, motion passed.

Motion by Winkler and supported by Main to appoint standing committees as follows; Finance, Budget, & Grants Committee – Rose Barratt & Amy Byers, Health and Public Safety Committee – Amy Byers & Bonnie Main, Legislative Committee – Shari Clark & Allen Sheldon, Streets, Sidewalks, & Street Lighting Committee – Allen Sheldon & Brad Clark, Downtown Revitalization and Business Development Committee – Bonnie Main & Scott Briggs, and Parks and Recreation Committee – Debra Winkler & Allen Sheldon. All in favor, motion passed.

Reminder to residents that it is the responsibility of the property owner to shovel sidewalks and off-street parking is required per ordinance. Sidewalks must be cleared of snow and ice (within 24 hours in residential districts & within 4 hours in the business district after the cessation of any fall of snow, sleet, or freezing rain) and vehicles may not be parked longer than 12 hours on Main Street or 24 hours on other public streets within the village. For persons within the residential district that this would cause undue hardship, they may file a request for exemption with the Village Clerk.

The meeting adjourned at 7:50pm.

The next regular meeting will be held Tuesday January 9, 2024.